Akwa United, Sporting Lagos Unveiled As Naija Super 8 Wildcards, Get Tough Group Draws

Akwa United and Sporting Lagos have been named as wildcards for the Naija Super 8 finals, to be held at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena in Lagos from 7-16 July. 

The two wildcard entrants were announced during the Naija Super 8 draws, broadcast live on SuperSport on Wednesday night. 

The draws were conducted by Super Eagles legend, Victor Ikpeba, and scorer of the best goal at the just concluded Naija Super 8 play-offs, Okon Ini-Obong. 

Sporting Lagos was drawn with current Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) champions, Enyimba, Remo Stars and Katsina United in group A, while Akwa United will slug it out with 2022 NPFL champions, Rivers United, North-East representative  Yobe Desert Stars and Lobi Stars from the North-Central in Group B. 

Each of the teams will be mentored at the tournament by Super Eagles and NPFL legends, Victor Ikpeba, Ike Shorunmu, Julius Aghahowa, Tijani Babangida, Mutiu Adepoju, Victor Ezeji, Jonathan Akpoborie and Garba Lawal.

The top two teams in each group will go into the semi-finals, with the winners proceeding to the final. Clubs will earn N3 million per match at the group stage, with semi-finalists also earning an additional N3 million for qualifying. The runners-up will earn N9 million, while the winners will go home with N25 million.

All Naija Super 8 matches will be broadcast live on SuperSport Football (DStv ch 205 & GOtv ch 61). Naija Super 8 is organised by Flykite Productions in partnership with MultiChoice Nigeria and sponsors, MTN, Hero Lager, DStv, GOtv, SuperSport, Moniepoint, Pepsi and Custodian Assurance.

Post a Comment